romance writer
Top Ten Books to Read if You Loved Bridgerton - Zoe Ashwood

Have you watched Bridgertons yet? What’s that? You have, and you loved the series?

 

The Duke and I by Julia Quinn I’m going to go ahead and assume that you’ve already read Julia Quinn’s novels if you’ve managed to find your way to this blog post. It's her Bridgertons series that the Netflix show is based on, after all.

 

For my fellow historical romance fans, I’ve put together this quick list of books that will give you the same emotional punch as the scandalous, sizzling series you just binged, with all the petticoats and cravats and carriages you can imagine. 

 

Now, a note of warning: I have no idea whether these actually take place in the exact same decade as the series. I’ve never been great at history, and I get my early 19th-century British monarch confused, but the vibe of the books is the same, promise. 

 

Just give these a try, then come back to chat with me once you’ve read them! 

*The links in this post are affiliate links, which means I receive a small commission from any purchases you make with zero additional cost to you. Read more about it here.*

 

  • The Duchess Deal by Tessa Dare - Dare is one of my favorite historical romance authors, and she’s probably the most similar to Quinn. You can’t go wrong with any of her romances, but this is her most recent series, and it’s amazing.
  • A Week to be Wicked by Tessa Dare - this is my favorite historical romance of all time. Minerva is an amazing, unusual young woman, and I love how she comes into her own through the course of the story.
  • A Rogue by Any Other Name by Sarah MacLean - Sarah MacLean’s stories are hugely popular, and with good reason! These are sexy, scandalous romances that will have your heart beating faster.
  • Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake by Sarah MacLean - another great title by MacLean.
  • How to Capture a Countess by Karen Hawkins - now Hawkins writes Scottish heroes, but her books were some of the first I read when I first discovered historical romance (right after Julie Garwood, haha!), so they hold a special place in my heart.
  • Devil’s Bride by Stephanie Laurens - Ahh, Laurens writes great alpha heroes. And amazing heroines who defy them on every step! I really need to reread these someday.
  • If You Dare by Kresley Cole - this one is definitely an outlier since it mostly takes place in Andorra, but it’s sexy and funny and I just love it! Highly recommended if you want a burly Scot instead of a starched Englishman as your hero. 
  • Secrets of a Summer Night by Lisa Kleypas - Lisa Kleypas is another historical romance powerhouse!
  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen - okay, I couldn’t help adding Jane Austen to the list - Mr. Darcy is, after all, the original hero we all know and love.
  • Ask For It by Sylvia Day - this is a little darker (and, dare I say it, smuttier - smut being a good word around here!) than the rest, but if your tastes run that way, definitely check out this series.

 

I hope you found a good book to satisfy your historical romance addiction on my list! Let me know if you’ve read any - and we can chat. I talk about the books I read over on my Instagram - and I have a feeling I'll need to do a good historical romance binge after finishing Bridgerton! I’d also love your recommendations as I’m always looking for new stories to read. 

 

Top Ten Books to Read if You Loved Bridgerton (the Netflix Show) - Zoe Ashwood

·

Hi! I'm Zoe Ashwood, a contemporary romance writer with a passion for sweet stories with a sexy twist. I want to make my readers fall in love with romance because I believe we all need a dash of love in our lives. Join my other followers to receive reading recommendations for all genres of romance, learn more about my writing process, and even read exclusive snippets of my novels and other writing endeavors. 

Let's be friends!